Articles

The eye of the storm…

In Uncategorized on November 4, 2011 by talesfromtheniteshift

What a week full of drama it had been. Work was horrendous. Staffing sucked. The two RNs and I had taken turns crying at the beginning of each shift. Home life wasn’t much better. Lots of familial bullshit. The coming week promised only more of the same. Parents, siblings, friends, and coworkers were all setting up for drama and there seemed no end in sight.

But Sat morning was for me. My Heavenly Father took mercy on me. He looked down and said “Sweet daughter, your week has been rough. Next week will be to. Take today and just be.”

I did just that. It was a beautiful crisp fall day. Leaves were falling. Temps were high 50’s. I took my crochet project, my phone, and my chair outside. Listened to the silence. My neighbor eventually turned on his stereo. It was good music and I wasn’t about to complain. I didn’t have to think. When the drama started to seep in I just had to think of putting the yarn on the hook and it all went away again.

What a sweet tender mercy this day was. Between all the bullshit I was able to recharge and have a moment of peace.

Leave a Reply

